Court Help Virtual Assistant

  • If your viewing our website with a Desktop computer, visit us on your iPhone or Android mobile phone.

  • Please contact us if you have any questions or comments.

What happens if I am convicted of a DUI or DWI in Charlotte North Carolina?

If you are convicted of a DWI a judge will conduct a sentencing hearing on you. He will sentence you as either a level one, level two, level three, level four or level five. And his judgment as far as level one being the most severe judgment and level five being the least severe judgment.

Your sentence will depend on a number of things, but basically if you have any prior DWI convictions your sentence will be more severe, the amount of time that you go to jail will be more severe.

If you don't have any driving while impaired convictions, you have a clean driving record then a standard judgment for somebody that’s a first time offender, that didn't have a child in the car, that the incident didn't result in an accident, no one was hurt then your typical judgment is that you would lose your drivers license for a year, you have to do either 24 hours of community service or 24 hours in jail, you are placed on probation for a period of time, which is usually about 12 months, you are required to do some alcohol classes, pay the costs for court and a fine.

That is generally what a judgment is when you don't have any other what are called grossly aggravating factors present.

DWI DUI Criminal

This information applies to Mecklenburg County in North Carolina.

Source: https://www.arnoldsmithlaw.com/what-happens-if-i-am-convicted-of-a-dui-or-dwi-in-charlotte-nort.html

Find an Experienced Attorney to help you with your DWI issues!

Find experienced lawyers in North Carolina, ready to assist you with your DWI legal / court needs.

View North Carolina DWI Attorneys
Find a North Carolina Attorney

Find Answers to Your Legal Questions