Court Help Virtual Assistant

  • If your viewing our website with a Desktop computer, visit us on your iPhone or Android mobile phone.

  • Please contact us if you have any questions or comments.

What happens if I don't pay my ticket?

If you missed your court date, then once 20 days have passed from your court date, the court will report your failure to appear to the NC DMV if you still have not appeared in court to answer the charge or disposed of the case. If your case was disposed in court by a judge, and you failed to pay the amount ordered by the judge within the time ordered by the judge, then once 40 days have passed from the failure to pay, the court will report your failure to pay to the NC DMV if you still have not paid. The NC DMV then will revoke your license based on the failure to appear in court or the failure to pay. If you failed to appear in court, your license will remain revoked until you either (i) dispose of the charge or (ii) demonstrate to the court that you are not the person charged with the offense. If you failed to pay as required by the court, then your license will remain revoked until you either (i) pay the amount ordered by the court, or (ii) demonstrate to the court that your failure to pay was not willful and that you are making a good faith effort to pay, or that the amount should be remitted. You will receive a notification of revocation from the NC DMV. If you resolve the case before the revocation goes into effect, you can avoid the revocation.

Traffic Citations 

This information applies to All Counties in North Carolina.

Source: https://www.nccourts.gov/help-topics/traffic-and-vehicles/traffic-violations

Find an Experienced Attorney to help you with your Traffic issues!

Find experienced lawyers in North Carolina, ready to assist you with your Traffic legal / court needs.

View North Carolina Traffic Attorneys
Find a North Carolina Attorney

Find Answers to Your Legal Questions